>John Cale
Fear Is A Man's Best Friend - John Cale

The Velvet Underground

Peel Slowly and See

Peel Slowly and See

About this album

5CD box released in 1995. Chronicles/Polydor/Polygram 31452 7887-2.

Disc 1:

  1. Venus In Furs (demo)
  2. Prominent Men (demo)
  3. Heroin (demo)
  4. I'm Waiting For The Man (demo)
  5. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams (demo)

Disc 2:

  1. All Tomorrow's Parties (single version)
  2. Sunday Morning
  3. I'm Waiting For The Man
  4. Femme Fatale
  5. Venus In Furs
  6. Run Run Run
  7. All Tomorrow's Parties
  8. Heroin
  9. There She Goes Again
  10. I'll Be Your Mirror
  11. The Black Angel's Death Song
  12. European Son
  13. Melody Laughter (live)
  14. It Was A Pleasure Then
  15. Chelsea Girls

Disc 3:

  1. There Is No Reason (demo)
  2. Sheltered Life (demo)
  3. It's All Right (The Way That You Live) (demo)
  4. I'm Not Too Sorry (Now That You've Gone) (demo)
  5. Here She Comes Now (demo)
  6. Guess I'm Falling In Love (live)
  7. Booker T. (live)
  8. White Light/White Heat
  9. The Gift
  10. Lady Godiva's Operation
  11. Here She Comes Now
  12. I Heard Her Call My Name
  13. Sister Ray
  14. Stephanie Says
  15. Temptation Inside Your Heart
  16. Hey Mr. Rain (version one)

Disc 4:

  1. What Goes On (live)
  2. Candy Says
  3. What Goes On
  4. Some Kinda Love
  5. Pale Blue Eyes
  6. Jesus
  7. Beginning To See The Light
  8. I'm Set Free
  9. That's The Story Of My Life
  10. The Murder Mystery
  11. After Hours
  12. Foggy Notion
  13. I Can't Stand It
  14. I'm Sticking With You
  15. One Of These Days
  16. Lisa says
  17. It's Just Too Much (live)
  18. Countess From Hong Kong (demo)

Disc 5:

  1. Who Loves The Sun
  2. Sweet Jane (full length version)
  3. Rock And Roll
  4. Cool It Down
  5. New Age (full length version)
  6. Head Held High
  7. Lonesome Cowboy Bill
  8. I Found A Reason
  9. Train Round The Bend
  10. Oh! Sweet Nuthin'
  11. Satellite Of Love
  12. Walk And Talk
  13. Oh Gin
  14. Sad Song
  15. Ocean
  16. Ride Into the Sun
  17. Some Kinda Love (live)
  18. I'll Be Your Mirror (live)
  19. I Love You

Disc 1 consists of tracks recorded at Cale's apartment at 56 Ludlow Street in New York, July 1965.

Disc 2 contains an edited version of Melody Laughter. Originally it runs for about 30 minutes. Recorded live at the Valleydale Ballroom, Columbus, Ohio, november 4, 1966.
Note: numereous Velvet Underground bootlegs feature the whole thing.

Disc 3: first five tracks demo's recorded at Cale's apartment at 56 Ludlow Street in New York, early 1967.
Also on this disc a longer version of Booker T (a three minute excerpt was released on Paris s'eveille) and Guess I'm Falling In Love, both recorded live at the Gymnasium, New York, april, 1967. Rumour has it that Cale is the proud owner of a tape of the whole concert, but he refuses to release it.

Disc 5: contains a version of Ocean with Cale on organ. This claim was disputed by Doug Yule in the liner notes of the Fully Loaded 2CD. The Cale version is on that one, he says. Cale himself is not sure about what was kept.

John Cale: bass, keyboards, viola, vocals
Sterling Morrison : bass, guitar
Nico: chanteuse
Lou Reed: guitar, vocals
Maureen Tucker: drums
Doug Yule: guitar

© 1999- Hans Werksman