John Cale
Fear Is A Man's Best Friend - John Cale


Paris s'eveille

Paris s'eveille - suivi d'autres compositions

About this album

Released in 1991. Les Disques du Crépuscule/Delabel DE 030924. Orchestral scores and parts of Sanctus were available upon request from Island Music Ltd, London, UK.


  1. Paris s'eveille
  2. Sanctus (Four Etudes For Electronic Orchestra)
    1. First Etude
    2. Second Etude
    3. Third Etude
    4. Fourth Etude
  3. Animals At Night
  4. The Cowboy Laugs At The Round-up
  5. Primary Motive
    1. Factory Speech
    2. Strategy Session
    3. Closing Titles
  6. Booker T.
  7. Antarctica Starts Here

Paris s'eveille music for the movie directed by Olivier Assyas.

Sanctus (Four Etudes For Electronic Orchestra) was written for the Randy Warshaw Dance Company in 1987. Note: he performed it live with The Orchestra of St Luke's at Town Hall in New York on June 8 and 9, 1991.

Animals At Night was written for the Ralph Lemon Dance Company.

Primary Motive is a score for a political thriller directed by Dan Adams.

Booker T. is a 3:02 minute excerpt - performed by The Velvet Underground, at The Gymnasium, New York, April 1967. The longer version of was released on the Peel Slowly and See box set, but with the first seconds edited out. The Japanese edition of the album also has the full version.

A studio version of Booker T. was used as the backdrop for The Gift on White Light/White Heat.

Antarctica Starts Here is a new version of the song from the Paris 1919 album.

Paris S'Eveille CDEP

Paris s'eveille CDEP

The Paris s'eveille CDEP (Les Disques Du Crépuscule/Delabel/Virgin DE 035080, France) was released in December 1991.

This CDEP includes the same version of Paris s'eveille, the otherwise unavailable track L'Heritage Du Dragon (a traditional with an unknown singer) from the movie's soundtrack, and the full version of Booker T. (6:39).


  1. Paris s'eveille
  2. L'Heritage Du Dragon
  3. Booker T.

John Cale
Soldier String Quartet: Laura Seaton (violin); Dave Soldier (violin); Ron Lawrence (viola); Mary Wooten (viola) (Paris s'eveille)
The Velvet Underground (Booker T.)

Other credits:
Producer: John Cale
Photo: Eric Mulet
Midi-engineer: Andy Green
Recording engineer: Miles Green
Special thanks: Jean-Michel Reusser at Taktic Music, Paris for administrative assistance
Paris s'eveille, The Cowboy Laugs At The Round-up and Primary Motive recorded at L.P.G. Studios, NYC, USA; Booker T. recorded live at The Gymnasium, NYC, USA - April 1967, Sanctus (Four Etudes For Electronic Orchestra), Animals At Night and Antarctica Starts Here recorded at Euphorbia, NYC, USA.

© 1999- Hans Werksman