John Cale
Fear Is A Man's Best Friend - John Cale

Solo albums

Fragments of A Rainy Season

Fragments Of A Rainy Season (expanded reissue)

About this album

Live album released in 2016. Expanded reissue of the Fragments Of A Rainy Season album released in 1992. The tracks on the first CD were re-sequenced and now follow the actual running order of the concert in Brussels (April 12, 1992). The bonus tracks on the second CD were recorded in Australia, Belgium, Germany, France, The Netherlands, London, and New York.


  1. On A Wedding Anniversary
  2. Lie Still, Sleep Becalmed
  3. Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night
  4. Cordoba
  5. Buffalo Ballet
  6. A Child's Christmas In Wales
  7. Darling I Need You
  8. Guts
  9. Ships Of Fools
  10. Leaving It Up To You
  11. The Ballad Of Cable Hogue
  12. Chinese Envoy
  13. Dying On The Vine
  14. Fear Is A Man's Best Friend
  15. Heartbreak Hotel
  16. Style It Takes
  17. Paris 1919
  18. (I Keep A) Close Watch
  19. Thoughtless Kind
  20. Hallelujah


  1. Fear Is A Man's Best Friend - Outtake
  2. Amsterdam - Outtake
  3. Broken Hearts - Outtake
  4. I'm Waiting For The Man - Outtake
  5. Heartbreak Hotel - Outtake (Strings)
  6. Fear Is A Man's Best Friend - Outtake (Strings)
  7. Paris 1919 - Outtake (Strings)
  8. Antarctica Starts Here - Outtake (Strings)

John Cale: vocals, guitar, piano
On CD2:
BJ Cole: slide guitar
David Soldier: violin
Lance Doss: guitar
Mark Deffenbaugh: keyboards
Martha Mooke: violin
Todd Reynolds: violin

Design (original design): Joseph Kosuth
Reissue design: Matthew Cooper (2), Paul J Street
Engineer: Dustin Boyer (tracks: 1-1 to 1-20, 2-1 to 2-8)
Executive producer: Nita Scott
Liner notes on Disc 2 (An Introduction): John Cale
Liner notes [John Cale: Fragments Of A Rainy Season]: Barney Hoskyns
Liner notes (Revisionist History: Hallelujah): Malcolm Gladwell
Mixed by: Dustin Boyer (tracks: 2-1 to 2-8)
Mixed by: Anne-Dominique Termont (tracks: 1-1 to 1-20), Carlos Albrecht (tracks: 1-1 to 1-20)
Performer (Cast Of Characters Joining In Along The Journey): BJ Cole (tracks: 2-5 to 2-8), David Soldier (tracks: 2-5 to 2-8), Dawn Buckholtz* (tracks: 2-5 to 2-8), Lance Doss (tracks: 2-5 to 2-8), Mark Deffenbaugh (tracks: 2-5 to 2-8), Martha Mooke (tracks: 2-5 to 2-8), Todd Reynolds (tracks: 2-5 to 2-8)
Producer: Jean-Michel Reusser (tracks: 1-1 to 1-20), John Cale (tracks: 1-1 to 1-20) Recorded by: Carlos Albrecht (tracks: 1-1 to 1-20), Philippe Kergus (tracks: 1-1 to 1-20)
Reissue producers: John Cale, Nita Scott
Photo: Lee Yanor

© 1999- Hans Werksman