John Cale
Fear Is A Man's Best Friend - John Cale

Solo albums

Circus Live

Circus Live

About this album

Live 2CD/1 DVD. Released February 19, 2007. EMI UK 377 6602.

EMI distributed a 2CD promo without the DVD to the press in the Autumn of 2006.

The songs on the CDs were recorded live at various locations during the European 2004 and 2006 tours. The 2006 tracks are from two shows in The Netherlands: at the Oosterpoort in Groningen (March 19) and at Doornroosje in Nijmegen (March 20).

Tracks 6-9 on CD2 (the "Amsterdam Suite"):
Paradiso, Amsterdam, December 9, 2004. The full concert was broadcasted on (the now defunct) Fabchannel.
Mercenaries (Ready For War) has updated lyrics to include the war in Irak.

"The record company popped up late in a nine-and-a-half week tour and said 'Let's do a full album.' We scrambled a truck out of Amsterdam when there were two weeks left. You look around and see which of the remaining gigs have the best facilities, which halls are really good, if they're clubs which ones have high ceilings over the stage for instance because if it's a low ceiling, you're gonna have separation problems and a load of feedback.

"Groningen which is the majority of the recording is a beautiful art theatre. It has a proscenium and a high ceiling above the stage, very warm-sounding, so we did it there. Then we had no choice, we had to go to Nijmegen which is a punky little club that really sounded pretty good when it came to reviewing the results. But by Nijmegen we were burnt, we were crispy critters."

The DVD was recorded during 2006 rehearsal sessions in Los Angeles.



  1. Venus In Furs
  2. Save Us
  3. Helen Of Troy
  4. Woman
  5. Buffalo Ballet
  6. Femme Fatale > Rosegarden Funeral of Sores
  7. Hush
  8. Outta The Bag
  9. Set Me Free
  10. Cable Hogue
  11. Look Horizon
  12. Magritte
  13. Dirty Ass Rock 'n' Roll


  1. Walkin' The Dog
  2. Gun
  3. Hanky Panky Nohow
  4. Pablo Picasso / Mary Lou
  5. Intro Drone "Amsterdam Suite"
  6. Zen
  7. Style It Takes
  8. Heartbreak Hotel
  9. Mercenaries (Ready For War)
  10. Outro drone
Still from the Circus Live DVD


The DVD features John Cale doing an acoustic rehearsal set and an electric "work in progress" rehearsal set. Both filmed with the 2006 band.

Electric tracks:

  1. Model Beirut Recital
  2. Sold Motel
  3. Gun
  4. Reading My Mind
  5. Heartbreak Hotel of sorts!!

Acoustic tracks:

  1. Dancing Undercover
  2. You Know More Than I Know
  3. GravelDrive
  4. Chorale
  5. Ghost Story

Extras video:

  1. Jumbo In Tha Modernworld Promo Video

Extras audio:

  1. GravelDrive (Blathamix)
  2. Big White Cloud
    2007 version (Smokin' Aces soundtrack)
Promo Poster Circus Live

Vinyl version

Also released on vinyl (triple LP) housed in a gatefold sleeve designed by David McKean with bonus poster and 7" single Jumbo in tha Modernworld b/w GravelDrive (Blathamix).

Musicians (2006):
John Cale: lead vocal, electric and acoustic guitars, keyboards, electric viola
Dustin Boyer: lead guitar, toys, backing vocals
Joseph Karnes: bass, Nord 3, samples, backing vocals
Michael Jerome: drums, samples, backing vocals

Musicians (2004):
Mark Deffenbaugh: acoustic guitars, banjo, harmonica
Deantoni Parks: drums, samples
Charlie Campagne: drone sample

Tony Paris (aka Professor Birdflu): tour mangler
Saimon Fierrens: FOH enigineer
Jelle Coremans: monitors and triggering
Live recording unit: Dutchview Sound Holland
Lead Recording Engineer: Hans Bunt
Dutchview Assistant Engineers: Fanny Vermeer, Tjerk De Groot
Account Magager: Hans Van Houdt

Other credits:
Producer: John Cale
Executive Producer: Nita Scott
Post Production Studio: The Boat (Silverlake, CA) Adam Moseley: engineer

© 1999- Hans Werksman