John Cale
Fear Is A Man's Best Friend - John Cale

Solo albums



About this album

Released in 1979. Spy Records SP004.


  1. Mercenaries (Ready For War)
  2. Baby You Know
  3. Evidence
  4. Dr. Mudd
  5. Walkin' The Dog
  6. Captain Hook
  7. Only Time Will Tell
  8. Sabotage
  9. Chorale

Recorded live at CBGB's, New York - June 13-16, 1979.

The CD reissue on the Diesel Motor label in 1999 contains four extra studio tracks:

  1. Chickenshit
  2. Memphis
  3. Hedda Gabler
  4. Rosegarden Funeral of Sores

All songs written by John Cale, except Walkin' The Dog written by Rufus Thomas, Jr and Memphis, written by Chuck Berry.

Mark Aaron: lead guitar
Joe Bidewell: keyboards, vocals
Doug Bowne: drums, vocals
John Cale: vocals, piano, guitar, fretless bass, viola
Deerfrance: percussion, vocals (her name is missing on the expanded Diesel CD reissue)
George Scott: bass, vocals

Other credits:
Mixing: by John Cale & Warren Frank
Remixing engineers: Jim Jordan & Roddy Hui at Big Apple Recording Studios, New York
Recording engineer: Charlie Martin
Art director: John Vogel
Cover photos: Hugh Brown

Animal Justice

Bonus tracks

Memphis, Chickenshit and Hedda Gabler were released as an EP called Animal Jusitice in 1977. Rosegarden Funeral of Sores was released as the B-side of the Mercenaries single (1980). The master of the studio version of Mercenaries is lost and therefore not included.

Musicians bonus tracks:
John Cale: vocals
Ritchie Flieger: guitar
Jimmy Bain: bass
Bruce Brody: Moog synthesizer
Kevin Currie: drums
Michael Mason: rhythm machine (on Rosegarden Funeral of Sores)

© 1999- Hans Werksman