John Cale
Fear Is A Man's Best Friend - John Cale

Solo albums

Music For A New Society

Music For A New Society

About this album

Released in 1982. ZE ILPS 7019.


  1. Taking Your Life In Your Hands
  2. Thoughtless Kind
  3. Sanities
  4. If You Were Still Around
  5. (I Keep) A Close Watch / Mama's Song
  6. Broken Bird
  7. Chinese Envoy
  8. Changes Made
  9. Damn Life
  10. Risé, Sam And Rimsky-Korsakov
  11. In The Library of Force

Includes a new version of Close Watch, from the Helen Of Troy album.
In The Library of Force is included on the expanded 1993 cd re-issue.

Sanctus > Santies > Sanities
The engineer misread Cale's handwritten title and thus the tracks was named Santies on the lp. The CD resissue calls it Sanities.

What happened to Mama's Song?
The original lp contained Mama's Song, an 0:58 instrumental, as the sixth track of side one. This is not missing from the cd re-issue, but included in Close Watch which now runs for 3:09 (2:11 on the lp).

The original Mama's Song however, featured a telephone call between John Cale and his mother. She had sung 'Arlan y Mor' (On The Sea Shore). When she was taken ill, Cale decided not to include it on the album.

2016 reissue
The album is re-released in expanded format in 2016. See Music For A New Society + M:FANS for all the details.


All songs written by John Cale, except If You Were Still Around and Risé, Sam And Rimsky-Korsakov by John Cale and Sam Shepard, and Damn Life by John Cale and Risé Cale.

John Cale: vocals, guitars, keyboards
Alan Lanier
D.J. Young
David Lichtenstein
John Wonderling
Mike McLintock
Pipe Major
Tom Fitzgibbon
Robert Elk
Risé Cale: vocal on Risé, Sam And Rimsky-Korsakov

Other credits:
Recorded and mixed at Sky Line Studios, NYC, USA
Producer: John Cale
Engineer: David Lichtenstein
Assistant engineer: David Young
Cover photo: Betsey Johnson
Design: Rob O'Connor

© 1999- Hans Werksman