John Cale
Fear Is A Man's Best Friend - John Cale


The Island Years

The Island Years

About this album

2CD compilation released in 1996. Island Records 524 235-2
Contains the three albums on the Island label: Fear, Slow Dazzle and Helen Of Troy.



  1. Fear Is A Man's Best Friend
  2. Buffalo Ballet
  3. Barracuda
  4. Emily
  5. Ship Of Fools
  6. Gun
  7. The Man Who Couldn't Afford To Orgy
  8. You Know More Than I Know
  9. Momamma Scuba
  10. Sylvia Said
  11. All I Want Is You
  12. Bamboo Floor
  13. Mr. Wilson
  14. Taking It All Away
  15. Dirty Ass Rock 'n' Roll
  16. Darling I Need You
  17. Rollaroll


  1. Heartbreak Hotel
  2. Ski Patrol
  3. I'm Not The Loving Kind
  4. Guts
  5. The Jeweller
  6. My Maria
  7. Helen Of Troy
  8. China Sea
  9. Engine
  10. Save Us
  11. Cable Hogue
  12. I Keep A Close Watch
  13. Pablo Picasso
  14. Leaving It Up To You
  15. Baby What You Want Me To Do
  16. Sudden Death
  17. You & Me
  18. Coral Moon
  19. Mary Lou

Additional tracks: All I Want Is You and Bamboo Floor from the Slow Dazzle sessions.

Sylvia Said originally released in 1974 as the B-side of The Man Who Couldn't Afford To Orgy single. Note: this track was remixed, so it is not the same as on the single.

You & Me is a previously unreleased track from the Helen Of Troy sessions.

The Jeweller is a previously unreleased different mix and it is shorter than the one that can be found on Slow Dazzle (4:15 vs 5:07).

Coral Moon replaced Leaving It Up to You, because it mentioned Sharon Tate, wife of film director Roman Polanksi, who was killed on August 9, 1969 by the Charles Manson gang.

Mary Lou taken from the Guts compilation album.

Other credits:
Producer: Bill Levenson in association with John Cale
Liner notes: Ben Edmonds
Digital remastering: Steve Fallone at PolyGram Studios
Project coordination: Terri Tierney
Project assistance: Catherine Landis
Cover photo: Hugh Brown
Additional photography; Keith Morris, MIck Rock, Kate Simon, Hugh Brown and Island Photo Archives
Art direction: Geoff Gans
Special thanks: Cally, Brett McKee and Trevor Wyatt

© 1999- Hans Werksman