John Cale live in Los Angeles 2010/09/30 - photo: Reed Hutchinson
Fear Is A Man's Best Friend - John Cale

John Cale setlists 2010

UCLA program - thanks: Dave Wilson

Los Angeles 2010-09-30

Live at Royce Hall, Los Angeles, USA - September 30, 2010.

Performs Paris 1919 live in its entirety with members of the UCLA Philharmonia as part of the UCLA Live series.

Special guests: Ben Gibbard and Mark Lanegan.

The band:
John Cale: vocals, guitar, keyboards
Dustin Boyer: lead guitar
Michael Jerome: drums
Josh Schwartz: bass

UCLA program - thanks: Dave Wilson

The orchestra:
Neal Stuhlberg: conductor
Ji Young An: concertmaster, violin 1
Joshua Addison,Laila Nasser Freidel: violin 1
Ambrose Aubrun, Boryana Popova, Margaret Wu: violin 2
Alison Spieth, Paula Karolak, Ben Bartelt, Danny Sheu: viola
Chloe Knudsen-Robbins, Suji Kang, Eunice Heo: cello
Ben Pendergrass, Joel Druckman: bass
Alicia Mastromonaco, Natalie Higgins: horn
Goni Eshed: trumpet
Joey Munõz: trumpet

UCLA brochure - thanks: Dave Wilson


  1. Child's Christmas in Wales
  2. Hanky Panky Nohow
  3. The Endless Plain of Fortune
  4. Andalucia
  5. Paris 1919
  6. Graham Greene
  7. Half Past France
  8. Antarctica Starts Here
  9. Macbeth
  10. Hello, There
  11. Heartbreak Hotel
  12. Ghost Story (Mark Lanegan on vocals)
  13. Ship Of Fools (duet with Ben Gibbard)
  14. Gideon's Bible (Ben Gibbard on vocals)
  15. Win a Few (Nico cover, Mark Lanegan on vocals)
  16. Catastrophic
  17. Whaddya Mean By That
  18. Secret Corrida
  19. Hedda Gabler
  20. > Pablo Picasso
  21. Chorale (three way duet with Cale, Gibbard, and Lanegan)

(Thanks: Dave Wilson, Paul White)

© 1999- Hans Werksman