The Velvet Underground in 1993
Fear Is A Man's Best Friend - John Cale

Velvet Underground



About this album

Released in 1993. Sire Records.
Recorded live at the Olympia in Paris, France (June 15, 16 & 17). Captures the reformed Velvets in concert.



  1. We're Gonna Have A Real Good Time Together
  2. Venus In Furs
  3. Guess I'm Falling In Love
  4. Afterhours
  5. All Tomorrow's Parties
  6. Some Kinda Love
  7. I'll Be Your Mirror
  8. Beginning To See The Light
  9. The Gift
  10. I Heard Her Call My Name
  11. Femme Fatale


  1. Hey Mr. Rain
  2. Sweet Jane
  3. Velvet Nursery Rhyme
  4. White Light/White Heat
  5. I'm Sticking With You
  6. Black Angel's Death Song
  7. Rock 'n' Roll
  8. I Can't Stand It
  9. I'm Waiting For The Man
  10. Heroin
  11. Pale Blue Eyes
  12. Coyote

Includes one new song, written by Cale and Reed: Coyote.

Live MCMXCIII - 1CD edition

Single CD edition

  1. Venus In Furs
  2. Sweet Jane
  3. Afterhours
  4. All Tomorrow's Parties
  5. Some Kinda Love
  6. The Gift
  7. Rock 'n' Roll
  8. I'm Waiting For The Man
  9. Heroin
  10. Pale Blue Eyes

John Cale: bass, keyboards, viola, vocals
Sterling Morrison: bass, guitar, backing vocals
Lou Reed: guitar, vocals
Maureen Tucker: drums, vocals

© 1999- Hans Werksman